11th International Workshop on Distributed Algorithms (WDAG'97)

September 24-26, 1997 - Saarbrücken, Germany


Research contributions to the theory, design, and analysis of distributed systems and their algorithms are solicited. Topics of interest include (in alphabetical order), but are not limited to: communication networks - protocols and architectures; competitive analysis of distributed algorithms; concurrency control and synchronization; data management, replication, and consistency; design and analysis of distributed systems; distributed applications, paradigms and services; distributed databases; distributed information retrieval; distributed operating systems; fault-tolerance and self-stabilization; knowledge in distributed systems; mobile computing; multiprocessor algorithms and architectures; performance and scalability issues; privacy and security in distributed systems; semantics, specification and verification; synchrony, asynchrony, partial synchrony and real-time.


Authors are strongly encouraged to submit their papers electronically. A detailed description of the electronic submission procedure is available on the Workshop web page. Authors without web access may send mail to requesting electronic submission information. Authors unable to submit electronically are invited to send sixteen (16) copies of their paper (double-sided, if possible), to the Program Committee Chair: Marios Mavronicolas, Attn: WDAG'97, Department of Computer Science, University of Cyprus, Nicosia CY-1678, Cyprus.

To be considered by the Program Committee, a submission must be received by April 26, 1997, or postmarked by April 19, 1997, and sent via air mail. These deadlines are firm; late submissions will not be considered. Contributions to WDAG'97 must report original research, submitted exclusively to this conference.

A submission should be in the form of an extended abstract in English that provides sufficient detail to allow the Program Committee to assess its merits. The first page of the extended abstract must include the title of the paper, names and affiliations of authors, a brief abstract, five (5) keywords, and the contact author's name, address, phone number, fax number and e-mail address, if available. The extended abstract should include appropriate citations and comparisons to related work. It is recommended that each submission begin with a succinct statement of the problem or issue being addressed, a summary of the main results, a brief statement of the key ideas, and a brief justification of the significance and relevance of the results to the Workshop, all tailored to a non-specialist. Technical development of the work, directed to the specialist, should follow.

Submitted abstracts should not exceed 12 double-space pages on letter-size paper using at least 11-point font and reasonable margins (roughly 4800 words). If the authors believe that more details are essential to substantiate the main claims of the paper, they may include a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the discretion of the Program Committee. Extended abstracts deviating significantly from these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.


Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by e-mail sent by June 17, 1997. Accepted papers will appear, possibly revised according to suggestions made by Program Committee members, in the Workshop Proceedings, which will be published by Springer-Verlag in the series Lecture Notes in Computer Science. A camera-ready copy of each accepted paper is required by July 10, 1997. There will be a strict limit of fifteen (15) pages for each paper appearing in the Proceedings. It is required that each accepted paper be presented at the Workshop by one of its authors.

Y. Afek (Tel-Aviv Universiity) S. Chaudhuri (Iowa State University)
V. Hadzilacos (University of Toronto) M. Herlihy (Brown University)
L. Kirousis (Patras University and CTI) K. Marzullo (UC San Diego)
M. Mavronicolas (University of Cyprus) - Chair S. Moran (The Technion)
Y. Moses (The Weizmann Institute of Science) R. Reischuk (Universität Lübeck)
A. Schiper (EPFL) M. Shapiro (Inria)
P. Spirakis (Patras University and CTI) Ph. Tsigas (MPI) - CoChair
P. Vitányi (CWI) M. Yung (CertCo-BTEC)

LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS CHAIRS: M. Papatriantafilou & C. Storb (MPI)

PUBLICITY: M. Mavronicolas (University of Cyprus) & A. Ricciardi (University of Texas at Austin)

SPONSORSHIPS: Max-Planck Institute for Computer Science, ESPRIT Network of Excellence CaberNet (preliminary list)

Back to WDAG '97 Home page

About this document

Tue Feb 4 14:48:07 MET 1997